#### Chief Executive's Office

Chief Executive: N.M. Pringle

Your Ref:

Our Ref: NMP/CD

All Members of Cabinet: R.J. Phillips (Leader) G.V. Hyde (Deputy Leader)

Please ask for: Mr. N.M. Pringle

Mrs. L.O. Barnett

Direct Line/Extension: (01432) 260044

P.J. Edwards Mrs. J.P. French

Fax: (01432) 340189

Mrs. J.P. French J.C. Mayson E-mail: npringle@herefordshire.gov.uk

D.W. Rule MBE R.V. Stockton D.B. Wilcox

R.M. Wilson

5th May, 2004

Dear Councillor,

To:

MEETING OF CABINET THURSDAY, 13TH MAY, 2004 AT 2.15 P.M. COUNCIL CHAMBER, BROCKINGTON, 35 HAFOD ROAD, HEREFORD

### **AGENDA (03/29)**

## 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

To receive any apologies for absence.

#### 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

To receive any declarations of interest by members in respect of items on this agenda.

#### 3. LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE ACT 1992

To consider the notice received from the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister (ODPM) on Thursday, 29th April, 2004 advising the Council that it was to be designated.

The amount which the First Secretary of State proposed should be the maximum for the amount calculated by Herefordshire District Council as its budget requirement for the financial year 2004/05 is £175,320,000. This contrasts with the budget requirement resolved by the full Council at its meeting on 5th March, 2004 of £175,573,000.

The authority has 21 days from the receipt of the letter to determine whether it wishes to challenge the designation.

The tight time scales have not enabled the Chief Executive and County Treasurer to prepare a full draft paper and further meetings are being held with the Local Government Association today. A draft paper will be prepared for despatch following the issue of this agenda. Every attempt will be made to circulate the draft early next week. (*Pages 1 - 6*)

# Yours sincerely,

New Trans

## N.M. PRINGLE **CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

Copies to: Chairman of the Council

Chairman of Strategic Monitoring Committee
Vice-Chairman of Strategic Monitoring Committee
Chairmen of Scrutiny Committees
Group Leaders

Directors
County Secretary and Solicitor
County Treasurer